The Gluten-free Diet
The gluten-free diet requires a completely new approach to eating. Newly diagnosed patients and their families may find support groups helpful as they learn to adjust to a new way of life. People with coeliac disease must be cautious about what they buy for lunch at school or at work, what they purchase at the grocery store, what they eat at restaurant and parties, and what they grab for a snack. Eating out can be quite a challenge. But despite strict dietary restrictions, people with coeliac disease can eat a well-balanced diet with a variety of foods. They can order products from special food companies or use gluten-free products that are increasingly available from mainstream stores like gluten-free bread, pasta, and other products from stores that carry organic foods.
In the past, people with coeliac disease were advised not to eat oats. New evidence suggests that most people can safely eat small amounts of oats, as long as the oats are not contaminated with wheat gluten during processing.
There are traces of gluten in some medicines. People with coeliac disease should ask a pharmacist if the prescribed medicines contain gluten. And since gluten is sometimes used as an additive in unexpected products — such as lipstick and play dough — reading product labels is important. If the ingredients are not listed on the label, the manufacturer should provide a list upon request. With practice, screening for gluten will become second nature
- Bean flour (instead of wheat flour)
- Grains: wheat, rye, and barley
- Many processed food
Eat healthy, stay healthy!